Walker Evans

27 April 2017 - 14 August 2017

Walker Evans (1903-1975) was one of the most important of twentieth-century American photographers. His photographs of the Depression years of the 1930s, his assignments for Fortune magazine in the 1940s and 1950s, and his "documentary style" influenced generations of photographers and artists. His attention to everyday details and the commonplace urban scene did much to define the visual image of 20th-century American culture. Some of his photographs have become iconic.

Conceived as a retrospective of Evans's work as a whole, the Centre Pompidou exhibition presents three hundred vintage prints in a novel and revelatory thematic organisation. It highlights the photographer's recurrent concern with roadside buildings, window displays, signs, typography and faces, offering an opportunity to grasp what no doubt lies at the heart of Walker Evans' work: the passionate quest to identify the fundamental features of American vernacular culture. In an interview of 1971, he explained the attraction as follows: "You don't want your work to spring from art; you want it to commence from life, and that's in the street now. I'm no longer comfortable in a museum. I don't want to go to them, don't want to be 'taught' anything, don't want to see 'accomplished' art. I'm interested in what's called vernacular. For example, finished, I mean educated, architecture doesn't interest me, but I love to find American vernacular".

Curator : Mnam/Cci, Clément Cheroux

Exhibition at the Centre Pompidou from April 26th 2017 to Augustl, 14th 2017
Buying a ticket online

Walker Evans au Centre Pompidou
Walker Evans au Centre Pompidou

Articles related to the exhibition

Sort by:
Walker Evans Reproduction - Alabama Tenant Farmer

Walker Evans Reproduction - Alabama Tenant Farmer

A touch of Walker Evans in your home !
€16.90
Member
€16.06
Further details
Walker Evans Reproduction - Farmer's Kitchen

Walker Evans Reproduction - Farmer's Kitchen

A touch of Walker Evans in your home !
€16.90
Member
€16.06
Further details
Walker Evans Tote Bag - Quote

Walker Evans Tote Bag - Quote

"Do we know what we look like? Not really." - Walker Evans In the wake of the launch of the new exhibition "Walker Evans", this tote bag was created with a very famous quote of the artist to accompany you wherever you go !
€16.90
Member
€16.06
Further details

Walker Evans Tote Bag - Quote

  • €16.90
    €16.06 Member
Walker Evans | Exhibition Catalogue

Walker Evans | Exhibition Catalogue

An outstanding book about one of the world's most famous photographer. A must-have monograph for any photograph connoisseur ! Exhibition at the Centre Pompidou from April, 27th 2017 to August, 14th 2017
€49.90
Member
€47.41
Further details

Walker Evans | Exhibition Catalogue

  • €49.90
    €47.41 Member
Walker Evans | Exhibition Album

Walker Evans | Exhibition Album

Discover in this album the whole Walker Evans retrospective at the Centre Pompidou ! A remarkable book... for less than 10€ ! Exhibition at the Centre Pompidou from April, 27th 2017 to August, 14th 2017
€9.50
Member
€9.03
Further details

Walker Evans | Exhibition Album

  • €9.50
    €9.03 Member
Walker Evans, le Secret de la Photographie. Entretien avec Leslie Katz | Writings

Walker Evans, le Secret de la Photographie.

The Editions du Centre Pompidou publish an exclusive interview of Walker Evans, for the first time translated in French ! Exhibition at the Centre Pompidou from April, 27th 2017 to August, 14th 2017
€10.50
Member
€9.98
Further details

Walker Evans

27 avril 2017 - 14 août 2017

Walker Evans (1903-1975) est l'un des photographes américains les plus importants du 20e siècle. Ses photographies de l'Amérique en crise dans les années 1930, ses projets publiés dans le magazine Fortune dans les années 1940 et 1950 et son « style documentaire » ont influencé des générations de photographes et d'artistes. Par son attention aux détails du quotidien, à la banalité urbaine et aux gens de peu, il a largement contribué à définir la visibilité de la culture américaine du 20e siècle. Certaines de ses photographies en sont devenues les icônes.

Rétrospective de tout l'œuvre d'Evans, l'exposition présentée par le Centre Pompidou propose une approche thématique et inédite à travers trois cents photographies d'époque. Elle met en évidence l'obsession du photographe pour certains sujets comme l'architecture des bords de route, les devantures de magasins, les enseignes, les signes typographiques ou les visages. Elle invite le public à mieux saisir ce qui constitue sans doute le cœur de l'œuvre de Walker Evans : la recherche passionnée des caractéristiques fondamentales de la culture vernaculaire américaine. Dans un entretien réalisé en 1971 le photographe explique cet attrait en ces termes : « Vous ne voulez pas que votre œuvre vienne de l'art ; vous voulez qu'elle prenne origine dans la vie ? C'est dans la rue qu'elle se trouve. Je ne me sens plus à l'aise dans un musée. Je ne veux pas les visiter. Je ne veux pas qu'on m'apprenne quoi que ce soit. Je ne veux pas voir de l'art " accompli ". Je m'intéresse à ce que l'on appelle le vernaculaire. Par exemple, l'architecture accomplie, je veux dire " cultivée ", ne m'intéresse pas, j'aime davantage chercher le vernaculaire américain. »
L'exposition a été réalisée avec le concours de Terra Foundation

Commissaire : Mnam/Cci, Clément Cheroux

Exposition au Centre Pompidou du 26 avril 2017 au 14 août 2017| Galerie 2 - Niveau 6
Réservez votre billet

Walker Evans au Centre Pompidou
Walker Evans au Centre Pompidou

Articles associés à l'exposition

Trier par :
Reproduction Walker Evans | Alabama Tenant Farmer

Reproduction Walker Evans | Alabama Tenant Farmer

Introduisez une touche de Walker Evans dans votre salon avec cette reproduction d'une de ces plus saisissantes photographies.
16,90 €
Adhérent
15,21 €
Plus de détails

Reproduction Walker Evans | Alabama Tenant Farmer

  • 16,90 €
    15,21 € Adhérent
Reproduction Walker Evans | Farmer's Kitchen

Reproduction Walker Evans | Farmer's Kitchen

Introduisez une touche de Walker Evans dans votre salon avec cette reproduction d'une de ces plus saisissantes photographies.
16,90 €
Adhérent
15,21 €
Plus de détails

Reproduction Walker Evans | Farmer's Kitchen

  • 16,90 €
    15,21 € Adhérent
Tote Bag | Walker Evans Citation

Tote Bag | Walker Evans Citation

"Savons-nous à quoi nous ressemblons ? Pas vraiment" Walker Evans A l'occasion de l'exposition-événement, les Editions du Centre Pompidou ont sélectionné une citation emblématique de Walker Evans pour ce tote bag qui vous accompagnera partout !
16,90 €
Adhérent
15,21 €
Plus de détails
Nouveauté

Tote Bag | Walker Evans Citation

  • 16,90 €
    15,21 € Adhérent
Walker Evans | Album de l'exposition

Walker Evans

Retrouvez dans cet album l'intégralité de la rétrospective Walker Evans au Centre Pompidou ! Un ouvrage exceptionnel... à petit prix ! Exposition au Centre Pompidou du 26 avril 2017 au 14 août 2017 Réservez votre billet
9,50 €
Plus de détails
Nouveauté

Walker Evans

  • 9,50 €
Walker Evans, le Secret de la Photographie | Entretien avec Leslie Katz

Ecrits | Walker Evans

Les Editions du Centre Pompidou publient un entretien exceptionnel de Walker Evans, traduit pour la première fois en français ! Exposition au Centre Pompidou du 26 avril 2017 au 14 août 2017 Réservez votre billet
10,50 €
Plus de détails
Nouveauté

Ecrits | Walker Evans

  • 10,50 €
Walker Evans | Catalogue de l'exposition

Walker Evans

Un livre exceptionnel sur l'un des photographes les plus célèbres du monde. Cette monographie essentielle séduira tous les amateurs de photographie ! Exposition au Centre Pompidou du 26 avril 2017 au 14 août 2017 Réservez votre billet
49,90 €
Plus de détails
Nouveauté

Walker Evans

  • 49,90 €