Gaston Paris

Gaston Paris (1903 - 1964), unknown until recently in the history of photography, was nevertheless one of the most active photographers of the 1930s, particularly in the service of the photographic news magazine VU.
From {{ lowestprice.price.display }} {{ lowestprice.price.title }}
{{ lowestprice.price_strike.display }}
{{ lowestprice.price_other.display }} {{ lowestprice.price_other.title }}
{{ selectedVariant.price.display }} {{ selectedVariant.price.title }}
{{ selectedVariant.price_strike.display }}
{{ selectedVariant.price_other.display }} {{ selectedVariant.price_other.title }}
Out of stock
Export sales do not include VAT.
Sold by Centre Pompidou (Editions Limitées) Event
Gaston Paris
Artist
Gaston Paris
Topics
Photography

Description

Gaston Paris (1903 - 1964), unknown until recently in the history of photography, was nevertheless one of the most active photographers of the 1930s, particularly in the service of the photographic news magazine VU.

The slow recognition of his role, in the light of a few scattered finds, came in the 1990s with the appearance, on flea markets or book fairs, of prints and contact sheets. His numerous interventions in the magazine were only spotted in 2006.

His intense production is one of a Parisian "reporter" and at the same time a press and publishing illustrator. He is as interested in the most diverse Parisian shows - music-hall, circus, theatre, cinema - as he is also in social, artistic and cultural subjects, news items or institutions, unusual places or leisure activities.

Never neutral or banal, Gaston Paris amazes with his point of view, always on the lookout for the right camera placement to bring to life to a scene that becomes a spectacle through photographic framing.

This catalogue attempts to provide a biography, a professional career, an insight into his training and motivations, and the sinuosities of a work that still eludes us. The work appears esoteric and exceptional when one considers the vast collection of high-quality negatives that have been transmitted.

Descriptions & Features

Authors
Under the direction of Florian Ebner
Publisher
Editions du Centre Pompidou
Dimensions
19,5 x 27,3 cm
Publication year
2022
Number of pages
256
EAN
9782365112888

You may also like

Gaston Paris

Gaston Paris (1903-1964), inconnu jusqu'à peu dans l'histoire de la photographie, fut pourtant l'un des photographes les plus actifs des années 30, particulièrement, au service du magazine d'actualités photographiques VU.
A partir de {{ lowestprice.price.display }} {{ lowestprice.price.title }}
{{ lowestprice.price_strike.display }}
{{ lowestprice.price_other.display }} {{ lowestprice.price_other.title }}
{{ selectedVariant.price.display }} {{ selectedVariant.price.title }}
{{ selectedVariant.price_strike.display }}
{{ selectedVariant.price_other.display }} {{ selectedVariant.price_other.title }}
En rupture de stock
Les ventes à l'exportation n'incluent pas la TVA.
Vendu par Centre Pompidou (Editions Limitées) Evénement
Gaston Paris
Artiste
Gaston Paris
Thèmes
Photographie

Description

Gaston Paris (1903-1964), inconnu jusqu'à peu dans l'histoire de la photographie, fut pourtant l'un des photographes les plus actifs des années 30, particulièrement, au service du magazine d'actualités photographiques VU.

La lente reconnaissance de son rôle, à la lumière de quelques trouvailles éparses, survint dans les années 90 avec l'apparition, sur les marchés aux puces ou foires aux livres, de tirages ainsi que de planches-contacts. Ses nombreuses interventions dans le magazine n'ont été repérées qu'en 2006.

Son intense production est celle d'un "reporter" parisien en même temps qu'illustrateur de presse et d'édition. Il s'intéresse aussi bien aux spectacles parisiens les plus divers - music-hall, cirque, théâtre, cinéma - qu'à des sujets de société, d'art et de culture, à des faits d'actualités ou des institutions, des lieux insolites ou de loisirs.

Jamais neutre ou banal, Gaston Paris étonne par un à-propos du point de vue, toujours aux aguets d'un placement adéquat de l'appareil pour faire vivre une scène qui devient spectacle par le cadrage photographique.

Ce catalogue tente de restituer pour la première fois une biographie, un parcours professionnel, une ouverture sur sa formation et ses motivations, les sinuosités d'une œuvre qui se dérobe encore. L'œuvre apparaît ésotérique et exceptionnelle dès lors que l'on considère le vaste ensemble de négatifs de grande qualité qui ont été transmis.

Informations générales

Auteurs
Sous la direction de Florian Ebner
Editeur
Editions du Centre Pompidou
Dimensions
19,5 x 27,3 cm
Année de publication
2022
Nombre de pages
256
EAN
9782365112888

Vous aimerez également